Move Windows shares from one computer to another

While moving your Windows shares from one laptop to a different might sound pointless for many individuals, system directors see the nice worth in doing it with efficiency. it’s significantly helpful in things wherever we’ve to maneuver knowledge from AN recent server to the new one, and that we need our users to stay on accessing their files through an equivalent virtual locations.

Let’s say you’ve got a novel quad-core server running in your server area and wish to maneuver files from your recent Windows 2000 box to the new machine. First, make certain to make an equivalent filing system structure as on your different server (C, D, E, etc.). Then, simply move (or restore) your files to the new server, ensuring that files and directory permissions square measure transferred in conjunction with them.

If there was a directory named d:\users in the old system, the user directory must also be restored in the same drive on the new server.

Also Read: Finding right business key

Now that you’ve moved your files, start the registry editor and follow these simple steps:

(Warning: Serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly by using the registry editor or another method. These problems might require that you reinstall your operating system. Microsoft or I cannot guarantee that these problems can be solved. Modify the registry at your own risk.)windows file

  1. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SYSTEM \ CurrentControlSet \ Services \ LanmanServer \ Shares.
  2. Select the “shares” key and click files -> export. Save this file to the location of your choice.
  3. Do the same with the “security” sub key.
  4. Copy both files to the new machine.
  5. Log in into the new server and double-click on the registry files you’ve just created (NOTE: You will lose all previously configured shares on the new system).
  6. Reboot the server, and voilà, the new shares should be there.

Now, the only thing that remains to be done is to modify your login script to point to the new server instead of the old one.

So, if your script contained something like:

NET USE M: \\oldserver\VOLUME1 /YES

Just change \\oldserver to \\newserver and your users won’t even notice their data moved.